Launching The Art of Science in the UK

London to Brighton

I think I’ve learnt how to drive in the UK. After one week I feel quite comfortable on the “wrong” side of the road, not worrying to damage the car anymore. I actually managed to find my way both in and out of London city, so I’m very proud. Although getting into town on my own on Saturday was a bit messy, I must admit, with directions that I failed to follow already on the motorway. With some help from friend Susanne I finally managed to find the right street, after being lost in East London for an hour or so…

Driving in the UK is something special. The distances are not far at all, but the hundreds of roundabouts and traffic light you need to pass all the time, as well as the lack of signing that makes you take the wrong routes (well, especially if unexperienced..) make driving in England quite a project. And the best thing is really to avoid city centers as much as possible. Another advice, make sure you’re not running out of gas on the M11 with 22 miles to the next service stop, so that you have to free glide and go for 60 miles an hour worrying that you’ll need to make an emergency call any second. Last advice – have GPS, or a skilled map reader!

Now picking up colleague Markus Larsson at Gatwick Airport, and continuing towards Brighton!

By the way, the title of this post is also the title of a good film. A film that moves you (and upsets you).

Leave a Reply

